Bend 1_web

Dylan o’keeffe

O’Keeffe Caught in Bend Carnage

A crash in the third and final Carrera Cup race at the OTR SuperSprint was a bitter end to Dylan O’Keeffe’s best round of the year in the one-make Porsche category.

After qualifying second and finishing Races 1 and 2 third and sixth respectively, O’Keeffe was turned around in the first corner of Race 3 and subsequently collected by another competitor, ending his day and causing substantial damage to his RAM Motorsport/Dexion Victoria Porsche 911.

O’Keeffe’s GWR Australia team now faces a significant workload to repair his car ahead of the next round at Sandown on 15-17 September.

“Coming into this weekend, I said the priority was to stay out of trouble in Race 1 – we did that, but unfortunately trouble found us in Race 3,” O’Keeffe said.

“In the first three rounds of the season, we’ve started off poorly and had to fight our way through the field, but this weekend was the opposite – we started strongly with some great pace in qualifying, but then went backwards in the races.

“In the first race, I didn’t quite do enough at the start and lost a couple of positions. In Race 2, we made some changes to the car which didn’t turn out to work as we’d hoped and lost a few more places, and unfortunately that put me in the mid-pack danger zone for Race 3, where I got taken out altogether.”

While disappointed with the way his weekend ended, O’Keeffe said his qualifying speed was a big tick for his team.

“The GWR team gave me a fantastic car for qualifying, which built upon everything we learned at our recent test session, so that’s a positive we can take from the weekend.

“Next up we head to Sandown, where I had a race win last year, so I’ll be looking to repeat that form and kick off the second half of the season on a much brighter note,” O’Keeffe concluded.

Carrera Cup Round Results Summary

Race 1: 3rd

Race 2: 6th

Race 3: DNF

Overall: 8th


Carrera Cup Championship Points

  1. Callum Hedge – 557
  2. Jackson Walls – 522
  3. Max Vidau – 383
  4. Dale Wood – 379
  5. Alex Davison – 281
  6. Simon Fallon – 254
  7. David Wall – 248
  8. Nick McBride – 244
  9. Fabian Coulthard – 240
  10. Thomas Maxwell – 232
  11. Dylan O’Keeffe – 229

Share this post

Taupo 6_web

O’Keeffe and RAM/GWR Taking NZ Knowledge to Darwin

Dylan O’Keeffe and his RAM Motorsport/GWR Australia team believe the knowledge they gained in New Zealand will serve them well when the Porsche Paynter Dixon ...
Read More →
Bend 4_web

O’Keeffe’s Bend TCR Weekend Highlighted by Race 1 Charge

An inspired charge through the field in Race 1 was the highlight for Dylan O’Keeffe in Round 4 of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series ...
Read More →
Phillip Island 3_web

O’Keeffe Predicting West Circuit TCR Thrills

Dylan O’Keeffe is expecting the West Circuit at Shell V-Power Motorsport Park to produce plenty of entertainment for the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series when ...
Read More →